This I know…….

There are many things in life that I am unsure of or simply just do not know. For example I don’t know how to use our wireless printer, despite the fact we have had it over a year and I do not know how to successfully make macaroons. However, there are some things that I know to be absolutely definite and true. Here are some of them……

When something happens that brings you tears, you must cry them. There will be a cupful, it may be the size of a thimble or the size of an ocean, but once they have been cried, they will stop. Let them come.

It is impossible to listen to H.A.P.P.Y Radio by Edwin Starr without smiling or dancing or probably both.

It is possible for people to behave in a way that doesn’t surprise you one bit and yet at the same time can utterly shock you to the core.

Bed is good. Whether you choose to sleep in it, relax in it or have sex in it, it is good. Treat it with respect.

All Special K adverts are hideous. The cereal is pretty awful too.

Friends are harder to come by that people lead you to believe. I mean, real, true friends. If you have one person in your life who ‘gets’ you, makes you laugh, think and you can say anything you like to, someone who will have fun with you and be there to mop you up when you need it, then you should consider yourself lucky. If you have more than one person like that you are truly blessed.

You will always lose/spend/forget the ‘trolley’ pound. Buy a keyring token. Your life will be better.

There is always love. Look at the most heinous of situations and there will always be the presence of love somewhere. It may not be winning, but it will be there.

You will always feel better after going for a run, even if it’s only mentally. The same cannot be said for eating a McDonalds.

Sometimes when you want a neat list of ten things, you can only think of nine. It’s messy. Like life.

15 comments
  1. Nat said:

    One word……Brilliant! :0) x

  2. Kelly said:

    I love this. I have a trolley token and it got stuck in an Asda trolley and I couldn’t get it back. So annoying.

    • Ooh, I would have gone in and had a rant. Bet you could have got a pound out of them

  3. Well you know my view on running :)
    I’m not sure what’s worse, the Special K adverts or the cereal itself?

    • I’ve given this some thought now and have decided that the actual cereal is bad but doesn’t cause white hot rage to course through me, so I’m thinking ads are worse.

  4. Great list. The Special K but made me laugh.

    • Clearly that should say ‘bit’ but maybe ‘but’ fits too?

  5. Great list. Completely concur about Special K. The adverts are dire and the cereal wooden – they seriously need to rethink their advertising.

    • “Enjoy summer like you used to” (ie: before you were fat) aaaaah, makes me rage

  6. Claire said:

    So very very true… On every count! This made me smile because absolutely everything you’ve said resonates with what I know to be true… 100%. Thankyou for writing this.xx

  7. What a great post. Funny and profound at the same time. The crying point really struck a chord with me.
    As for the trolley pound, well, I’m lucky if I remember my purse, let alone a spare pound!

    Found you via the new mumsnet linky. If you like, you can find more from me at http://www.mummykindness.com.

    Looking forward to reading more of your posts.

    R x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

