…and she knits too.

I admit that this post is really just gratuitous showing off on my part but I’ve actually managed to complete a few projects recently and am very proud of them.


I started knitting a couple of years ago and learnt from a book. I am still totally shocked when I manage to create something and it looks like it did in the pattern picture. I am a little newer to the whole sewing thing, having restricted myself to curtains in the past. These are not as impressive as many people might think as they are basically rectangles of material, albeit large rectangles. 


So, ladies and gentlemen (although I suspect mostly ladies) may I introduce my latest projects. 



The bag and the pin cushion are from a great book I got for Christmas, Cath Kidston’s Sew, which has 40 projects to make. The bag material is included and already cut, so a bit of a cheat but I’m still stupidly pleased with the results. Likewise the teddy, as it is the first toy I’ve made and is for a friend’s new baby, who is not due until May, this will be the first time I’ve completed something for a newborn that I will actually be able to give when they are new born.


These flowers…

are to be sewed onto a bag and are the most tedious thing to make. There will be 30 of them and I still have 5 to go. They involve casting on 95 stitches for each one so I am showing them off now in an attempt to find the inspiration to finish the damn things. I have been working on this one for well over a year!
2 thoughts on “…and she knits too.

  1. These are AMAZING! I'm well-impressed and your pics are great too. Can't remember if I've told you that there's an award for you over at mine, you talented lady!

  2. I'm seriously impressed…the only thing I ever managed to knit was a little scarf for a Barbie doll when I was about 10 years old…my mum found the whole experience far too distressing and encouraged me never to try again!

Leave a Reply

