Cheer up, love.

An absolute age ago Josie at Sleep is for the Weak tagged me in a happiness meme to list 10 things that are making me happy at the moment. Apologies for the delay but have been saving it for one of those days when other inspiration leaves me and today is one of those days.


So, here we have 10 things that make me happy at the moment. 


Blogging
Starting this blog was one of the best things I’ve ever done. Every day it brings me pleasure in so many ways. Sometimes I simply enjoy the writing and the satisfaction of a post turning out just as I planned. Other days I get pleasure from connecting with someone who has commented or finding a new blog to read that I really enjoy. Of course, there are some days that I don’t feel like posting but blogging has opened up a whole new world of Twitter and it’s just enough to chat with someone and find something that makes me laugh. I love that on those days I don’t feel the inspiration to write, I don’t have to because, well, it is my blog, so there!


April Weather
For various reasons this will be the third April in a row that I’ve been able to spend at home and I’ve noticed that the weather in April is usually gorgeous. OK, so it’s not boiling hot, sunbathing weather but it’s sunny, breezy, warm(ish) and for now that’s good enough for me. (Yes, I know it’s May but it’s only the 2nd and anyway it’s raining!)



The boys
They have adapted brilliantly to having a small, noisy person in the house, who is thinks they are the best thing ever and so never leaves them alone.


Staying at home 
It is official, I have no job, or at least no paid job. I finished work last month and even though I haven’t been there for over a year it feels different somehow now that I have resigned. I know there are bound to be times when I want to run screaming from the house but for now and for the most of the last year I have loved not doing the 9-5 thing. I thought I would be bored but have enjoyed doing things with Mini Mck. I can only see it getting more fun as he learns to walk and talk and the range of things that we can do increases. 
Strangely, I have also enjoyed the domestic side of my ‘new job’. Having the time to bake home-made food for Mini Mck and keeping on top of the housework and washing and shopping. I suppose it gives me some kind of structure to the day which after years of working I still need and I’ve made a real effort not to enforce an unbending routine on Mini Mck so I need some control somewhere. 

Thorton’s Caramel Shortcakes


Is it wrong to eat them in one sitting? Don’t judge me until you’ve tasted them.


Five hours uninterupted sleep
We are by no means getting a full nights sleep yet but over the last couple of weeks we have weaned Mini Mck off some of his night feeds and are now  feeding  just once between bedtime and morning. He is spending more of the night in his cot and is happy to go in his pushchair for the rest. It’s not perfect by any stretch of the imagination but considering that a couple of months ago he was in our bed for most of the night and fed hourly from about 2am this is a vast improvement. It is satisfying that after months of giving him time to sleep better without leaving him to cry it out, we seem to be getting somewhere and for now that is enough to keep me going. 


My iPhone
Absolutely vital for those long bedtimes when I have to wait until his legs and arms are totally floppy and it has certainly made those 4am feeds easier. Plus it feels my new found Twitter addiction. 

Mealtimes
After months of most food going on the floor and just when I was starting to regret this Baby-Led Weaning marlarky we’ve had a couple of breakthroughs. Mini Mck has started using a spoon with varied success and more importantly he is happy to help himself to small bits of food out of a bowl. Which means we no longer have to pass him food throughout the meal. 


Lighter Evenings


It may be harder to get Mini Mck to go to sleep when the light is still poking through the sides of the black out blinds but the lighter nights are fantastic. It’s great to eat when it’s light and to be able to have the washing out later. For some reason the lighter evenings give me more energy to actually do stuff rather than just curl up in bed. 

Home-made gorgeousness
My baking addiction is getting quite out of hand. I am slightly concerned that my quest for the perfect icing will mean larger trousers but other than that I am loving improving my skillls. Cakes are my drug of choice, but I also do a good line in baby friendly snack, cheese scones, mini quiches and homemade rusks. Very therapeutic and very yummy.


There you have it, 10 things that are making me happy at the moment. Aside from the iPhone none of them cost much and yet they give me so much joy. I’m passing this one on to some blogs that I’ve only just come across and have really been enjoying but would love to hear anyone’s happy list. 


Keep Calm and Eat Cake
teawithonesugarplease
The MadHouse
The Sardine Tin
A Place of My Own
Mummy Musings





3 thoughts on “Cheer up, love.

  1. Thanks for tagging me – will definitely give it a go, but will apologise in advance if it takes a while though, things fairly hectic at the moment and I'm already really behind with memes!

Leave a Reply

