Through good times, through bad times, I’ll be on your side for evermore…..

Written as part of The Gallery at Sticky Fingers for this week’s topic: Friendship. 








Friends that you know are going to be around always, regardless of how often you see them, that are always going to laugh with you, cry with you, rant with you and shop with you are rare. Honestly I think you’re lucky if you have one friend like that, if you have two, as I do, you are truly blessed. If those two people then turn out to get along with each other, that is even better. 


The Scary Girl and Godmother Limited are totally different. The Scary Girl is cynical, like me, fiercely intelligent, opinionated and strong willed. Godmother Limited is naively gullible, traditional and nervous of new things. They are both funny, loud, talkative (again, like me!) and fabulous.


Despite their differences they get on brilliantly and had met a few times before these photos were taken, but this is when the three of us ventured to France for a week in January 2004 and had a blast. 


We enjoyed much cackling laughter, or at least Godmother Limited and I did, usually at The Scary Girl’s expense, or at least that is what she would argue. Lots of nice wine, good food and cheap cigarettes. We drove for hours to get to Toulouse to see an old friend, took the train to Barcelona and visited a duty free town on the border with Spain, where we drank strong coffee in a bar full of lorry drivers and us. We also spent lazy days in the local town sitting in the cold winter sun drinking coffee and talking and talking and talking. 


These pictures could never be described as photographic triumphs, not helped by the fact that I’ve had to take photos of photos, but to me, they perfectly encapsulate fun and laughter with two great friends.

Stupid o’clock in the morning at Stansted Airport, The Scary Girl realises that her luggage is over weight and is going to cost almost as much as her ticket to send. Much giggling, cackling and repacking as much as possible in our hand luggage follows. The image of her boarding the plane with one shoe poking out of the top of her handbag will never leave me.

Scary Girl and I

Godmother Limited and I enjoying the previously mentioned coffee in the sun.
17 thoughts on “Through good times, through bad times, I’ll be on your side for evermore…..

  1. I dont know about you, but I thought it was hard this week to pick photos to use from the load I have showing me and my friends! Plus the hundreds of stories to accompany them! Great post – you have really captured the essence of your friendships here with your 2 friends . It sounds like holidays I have spent with mine. πŸ™‚

  2. Nice post, I also have friends that are very different and met each other at my wedding…was quite funny to see them all together having fun πŸ˜‰

  3. Hi, Neat post. There's a problem with your website in web explorer, may check this? IE still is the marketplace chief and a huge component to people will pass over your magnificent writing due to this problem.Visit my blog postfree iphone

  4. Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?I'm not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I'm thinking about creating my own but I'm not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? CheersHere is my webpagewatch nfl

  5. First off I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question that I'd like to ask if you don't mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I have had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted just trying to figure out how to begin.Any suggestions or tips? Thank you!Here is my site :: brown acne scars

  6. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people consider worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal.Will probably be back to get more. ThanksAlso visit my weblog : how to get rid of pimples overnight

Leave a Reply

