Simple, classic and gorgeous.

A couple of weeks ago I had the Baby Group coming round for coffee and obviously that means cake as well. This coincided with the lovely English Mum launching her latest baking competition, which is to being judged by Heather from Eggs, Cream and Honey. These two are basically my baking gurus. I want to bake like them when I grow up.  So, I thought I would make the effort and offer something home-baked. 


I toyed with the idea of cupcakes, but knowing that I had to make 36 for my Stepmother’s 60th Birthday pushed me away from this notion. I settled for something much simpler and whilst they may not be as impressive to look at as some cakes I defy anyone not to not want to sink their teeth into them. 


Simple, classic, easy and quick to make and very Women’s Institute.  Scones are delicious when still slightly warm from the oven so the outside has a slight crispness but the inside is light and fluffy, smothered in jam and cream. Perfect, eaten in the garden on a summer day with friends and tea.


Scones from Nigella Lawson’s How to be a Domestic Goddess with Strawberry Jam and Cream.
Leave a Reply

