Spicy Bean Burgers

I could, absolutely, never be a vegetarian and would never want to be. I love roast dinners, steaks, cold meats, fish and could never resist the smell of cooking bacon. However we have made a conscious decision to try and eat less meat and make at least one evening meal a week totally meat free. 


There are a few reasons for this. Firstly, Mckdaddy felt it would be a healthier to reduce our meat intake. Also, I find I am spending increasing amounts on food each week and frankly we need to reduce our bills. Finally, MM is not a huge fan of meat and I’m hoping that he will be tempted by some of the vegetarian options I’m cooking. 


Mckdaddy already cooks a fantastic potato topped Lentil Bake and we recently tried the Cheese and Lentil Loaf from Thinly Spread’s Meat Free Monday post, but one thing I really wanted to try were bean burgers, as I love them and can only find one bought version that I like, which are quite pricey. 


I found this recipe on-line and they were so delicious and easy to make that I just had to share it: 


Ingredients


2 x 400g tins of kidney beans, drained and rinsed
100g breadcrumbs
2tsp mild chilli powder
Small bunch of fresh coriander, leaves and stalks
I egg, beaten
200g tub of salsa
Salt and Pepper
150ml natural yoghurt
Juice 1/2 lime
Wholemeal burger buns


Method


Tip kidney beans into a large bowl and roughly mash with a potato masher. 
Add breadcrumbs, chilli powder, coriander stalks and half the leaves, 2tbsp salsa and the egg and mix together. 
Season with salt and pepper
Shape into 6 burger shapes
Either:
Grill for 4/5 mins on each side
or:
Freeze and cook at 200c/180c(fan)/Gas 6 for 20/30 mins from frozen
Mix the yoghurt, lime juice and remaining chopped coriander leaves. 
Split buns and serve burgers in them with the yoghurt dressing and remaining salsa. 


From BBC Good Food Magazine website


I deviated slightly, as read the recipe wrong and thought the salsa was purely for serving and so didn’t buy any. In the recipe I substituted it with a finely chopped small onion and a generous squirt of tomato ketchup. I also only had hot chilli powder and so halved the amount, although we both felt I could have been more liberal with the chilli. 
As we were having some home-made chips with it, I didn’t fancy lots of bread and so we chose grilled pittas rather that the wholemeal rolls. 





It was a fabulous Friday night tea and I have more still in the freezer. Definitely one for our vege meal list.

Leave a Reply

