Homemade Advent Calender – No rubbish chocolate allowed.

I loathe chocolate filled advent calenders. I’m not sure if it’s because I am too old to have had them when I was a child or I just can’t abide the cheap, soapy chocolate that you find in them. I like a nice traditional nativity themed one and that is exactly what we had last year. I loved it so much that I have carefully re-closed all the doors to use again, please say I’m not the only person that does this.

However, I suspect that this will not keep Mini Mck satisfied for many years and so in an attempt to avoid the dreaded chocolate filled thing I have decided to make one and fill it with a mix of activities and treats.

I was a little stumped with what to fill it with, but found the only benefit of Mckdaddy messing up his back was that I was able to task him to find me twenty four fantastic surprises for our calender.

I had a few requests to share what he came up with so here is our list of advent activities:

  1. Make mince pies
  2. Write Father Christmas a letter
  3. Make Christmas biscuits
  4. Choose a Hot Wheels car
  5. Go to the park
  6. Read a Christmas story
  7. Make a smoothie
  8. Jump on Mummy and Daddy’s bed
  9. Decorate biscuits with icing and sprinkles
  10. Paint a picture of Father Christmas
  11. Buy a Christmas tree
  12. Decorate the tree
  13. Make Christmas Cards
  14. Eat Chocolate
  15. Make a stickman http://www.redtedart.com/2011/08/18/quick-kids-craft-stick-men/
  16. Have Christmas tea party
  17. See Father Christmas
  18. Feed the ducks
  19. Make wrapping paper
  20. Make a flag http://www.redtedart.com/2011/06/22/kids-crafts-making-flags-with-kids/
  21. Make stain glass window biscuits http://www.redtedart.com/2011/08/26/how-to-make-lollibops-guest-post/
  22. Watch a Christmas Film
  23. Make a thankful tree http://infantbibliophile.blogspot.com/2010/11/thankful-tree-my-favorite-thanksgiving.html
  24. Go on a bike ride

The order has been tinkered with a little to fit in with weekends and visits away to family. I’m not sure this is the definitive list, but whenever they are it looks like I’m going to have a very busy December. I’m sure that some days may have a chocolate included in them as well.

For more Festive type posts why not take a peek at Christine’s Festive Friday linky. I am sure you will find some fabulous Christmassy ideas.

Thinly Spread
One thought on “Homemade Advent Calender – No rubbish chocolate allowed.

Leave a Reply

