The Big Reveal – Crocheted Flower Purse

As you may remember I recently decided to give crochet a try. Armed with some You Tube tutorials, some books and some Twitter Crocheters to help me on my way I started with some very basic stitches that I have blogged about already.

After finding out that American crochet terms are different to UK ones, but similar enough to make it very confusing I used a combination of my two books. The US one (The Happy Hooker by Debbie Stoller) gave much better explanations for learning the techniques, but the other (Cute & Easy Crochet by Nikki Trench) had the correct UK terms and lots more projects that I wanted to make.

I have loved the whole experience of learning something new, although it really was quite a challenge and I have such a long way to go in getting my skill level to match by project desire level.

I particularly liked that my crochet project was so much more portable than knitting. I took it on the train to London and it wasn’t cumbersome at all. It also progresses much quicker, which is lovely when you are only just starting out and yet can see the fruits of you labour.

So, I present to you my first crochet project. A gorgeous flower embellished purse from the Nikki Trench book and I love it. I started it for myself, but at the last minute decided to give it to my lovely sister-in-law for Christmas as it was just very ‘her’.

I found making the main part of the purse quite easy once I got the hang of it and it was a great starting project as it has a decent amount of simple. straight back and forth hooking to get you in the swing of things. However I found the flowers to be a real challenge. I wonder if its the knitter in me that meant working in a circle was so alien and confusing. Luckily they are quite small and didn’t take long to do, so there are currently a number of rejects hiding at the bottom of my craft bag.

I am traditionally very lazy about making up pieces and this project required a material lining, but seeing as I was on a festive deadline I had to get it done. I am so disappointed that I didn’t photograph the inside as I happened to have the perfect fabric in my stash.

I am itching to try something else and mainly master this circular business but I currently have a hat for a very cool toddler on my needles and a cardigan for Nano Mck to make up, which, disappointingly, I think is going to be too small and so I have lost interest somewhat.

4 thoughts on “The Big Reveal – Crocheted Flower Purse

  1. It's a Debbie Bliss yarn. I *think* it was Cashmerinio Aran. I love that many crochet projects seem to work with chunkier yarns. The flowers were just bits I had in my stash

Leave a Reply

