Blognonymous – CLIC Sargent Writing Prompts: Week 1

This post was submitted to Blognonymous to be posted anonymously. We would love your comments and feedback. For more information about Blognonymous see the page here


What your children mean to you. How have they changed your life?

I expected to love. I expected to be sleepless. I expected the poo. And the wee. And the sick.

What I didn’t expect was the overwhelming urge to slip into their rooms in the middle of the night just to stare at their sleeping faces. What I didn’t expect was to want to confront anyone who ever hurt them. What I didn’t expect was to be challenged on a daily basis with questions including where do we go when we die, why aren’t you and daddy married yet, why do we poo, what is religion and why are people mean to me.

I expected to clean scraped knees. I expected nightmares and the midnight hugs needed to send them away. I expected the tantrums. And the constant reply of noooooo mummy. And the quivering bottom lip.

What I didn’t expect was the joy, the pure unadulterated joy of watching your child playing, laughing or blowing bubbles in the bath. What I didn’t expect was that children have a sense of humour and a well developed one at that. What I didn’t expect is that I would share common interests with my children, books, music (Justin Beiber aside) and films even from a young age. What I didn’t expect is that I would spend most of my income kitting out children who mysteriously grow out of clothes and shoes overnight.

I expected to wipe noses. And eyes brimming with tears. I expected they would need me.

What I didn’t expect is that they would become the centre of my world. What I didn’t expect is that my children would teach me things, mostly that the stuff adults worry about is actually unimportant. What I didn’t expect is that my children would make me want to be a better person, both for myself and for them. What I didn’t expect is that having children would create a much stronger bond with my own mum. And make my heart ache for my dad who died many years ago.

This post is written in support of CLIC Sargent’s Yummy Mummy Week – www.yummymummy.org.uk. Visit the website for more information and sign up for a pack to organise your own fundraising event. You can join in with the writing prompts here.

About CLIC Sargent
CLIC Sargent is the UK’s leading cancer charity for children and young people. It provides clinical, practical and emotional support for young cancer patients and their families, from diagnosis onwards. For more information visit www.clicsargent.org.uk
About childhood cancer
Every day 10 children and young people are told they have cancer, and diagnosis usually comes as a shock. Treatment normally starts straightaway and can last up to three years. Although survival rates are over 80%, cancer remains the single largest cause of death from disease in children in the UK.
6 thoughts on “Blognonymous – CLIC Sargent Writing Prompts: Week 1

  1. I love this post. You have summed up the details of parenting so well and you're right, there is so much that you just didn't expect. It's a pleasure to have you post here. Thank you

  2. Thanks for posting this up using the Blognonymous facility and thanks to MummyLimited for hosting it. Such a beautiful post about the bond with your children and making you value the relationship with your parents more!Thanks for sharing it for the #dosomethingyummy campaign.

Leave a Reply

