The Big Reveal – Jar Covers

One of the reasons I love to make things is that I can make exactly what I want, rather than have to search the shops for something that isn’t quite what I had in mind. I can make to my own orders, as it were, providing that the skill required isn’t totally beyond me. 

Recently I showed you my pink kitchen wall and the mish mash of items that I’d hung on the wall and put on the shelves and there were some tins that I had fallen out of love with, that no longer seemed quite right. They contained the every day essentials and I mean essentials of tea, coffee and sugar, so the replacement had to be just right. 
After much internet window shopping, in which I enlisted a couple of on-line friends, I started to think that plain kilner jars might be the answer, with some kind of decoration to jazz them up a bit. I then became very excited about the prospect of crocheting jar covers. 
Initially I thought I would just have one of the jars crocheted, embellish another with ribbon and come up with something else for the third, but I completed the first and oh my word, if I didn’t fall in love with it. Loved making it, loved looking at it and it looked even better when I put it on the shelf. 
So, in an attempt to not make the jars too matching I simply crocheted different designs with the same colour palette, using Rooster Merino Aran weight wool, which has a gorgeous feel to it and the colours are so rich and bright.
 
They are so easy to do, even for a beginner. Basically just a tube of crochet that I measured as I went along and once the cover was the right size I stopped. The smallest, pale blue cover is simply UK double crochet with a teeny tiny heart sewn on, the pattern for which I used from Attic 24. The middle, red and pink striped cover is double treble crochet. The largest is a stitch that I seem to have made up by accident. I am sure that is has been done before, but I can’t find it in either of my books. I thought I was doing something called half-double, but so far I can’t find any instructions that come up with what I ended up with. I quite like it, unfortunately I can’t remember exactly what I did, so will need to use trial and error to come up with it again.
All three jar covers are now complete and sitting in their new home. They are perfect, exactly the kind of thing I was looking for and they really look fantastic. I think they have to be one of my absolute favourite makes and every time I look at them I smile. 

Don’t just look so at home? I really don’t think I need to say more. 
3 thoughts on “The Big Reveal – Jar Covers

  1. Oh aren't you clever. As someone who just can't crochet I am impressed. My shelves are full of Kilner jars, I love them.

Leave a Reply

