What was I thinking?

Exercise has never really been my thing. I did go through a period of gym going before I had children and I have to admit I did enjoy the de-stress aspect and the fact that I was the slimmest I’d ever been, whilst still being able to eat what I wanted. Other than that it’s never really been my thing

So, I’m not really sure what I was thinking when a friend suggested we do the Royal Parks half marathon for Tommy’s in October and I was tempted.

Actually I do know what I was thinking. I was craving a project, a goal and thinking that I am rather tired of not liking how I look in photos or even in the mirror. I was imagining how good it would be to have some time to myself and how satisfying it would be to achieve something so seemingly out of reach as running 13 miles. Finally, I was thinking how much I would love to do something for Tommy’s, a charity that funds research into pregnancy problems and premature birth and provides information and support to parents.

There were too many reasons to say yes and only one to say no, that is my fear that I wouldn’t be able to do it, maybe two, if you include laziness and so, I said yes and committed to do it.

I started training at the beginning of March by going out for thirty minutes and doing a combination of running for four and walking for six and gradually I have built this up. I had a break of about a month as I strained a muscle and then frankly made up a load of excuses not to go, but am now back at it and it the main loving it.

I can now run continuously for twenty three minutes, which is only just under two miles. I know I still have a massive way to go, I mean, I have got to do that six times over, but I am trying not to think about that too much or it is just overwhelming.

I have learnt a few things about running already, or perhaps about myself. For example, I rarely want to go out, but nearly always feel glad I did. When I think I need to stop or walk, I can keep going and for much longer than I think. I much prefer running first thing in the morning than at any other time and I the though that I am going to slip and fall into the river, mid-run, crosses my mind more often than it should.

So, that is why I am running. I haven’t blogged about it before, as I didn’t feel I was enough of a runner to justify doing so, but I need to get it out there, to make it real, so that there is no backing out. I shall be updating you on my progress and writing more about why Tommy’s is a charity I want to support.

I am relying on you to keep me on the straight and narrow and be my virtual cheerleaders.

13 thoughts on “What was I thinking?

  1. You can do it! Do keep pushing yourself – try to do one long run a week to help you build up the stamina. Have you looked on Runner's World for their free training plans? The first 15 mins is always dreadful (no matter how much you train) but once you get past 30 you can just keep going, honest!

  2. I feel somewhat responsible for this state of affairs, but I think you're doing brilliantly and I'm really enjoying sharing the experience with you so far. Run Mummylimited, run!

  3. Oh well done! I started 'running' (gasping for air after 90 seconds) in March and just completed my first 5K race for life. I'm very much overweight and out of shape, if I can do it, you'll have no problems with your half marathon (imagine me saying this whilst doing a Churchill nod!)Good luck and enjoy the runs!!

Leave a Reply

