Finger Food Friday – Baby quiches and Polenta chips

I can’t believe I haven’t done any Finger Food Friday posts since I started baby led weaning with Nano. It’s probably due to the fact that all the old favourites are have been cooked time and time again. However, there are a few additions and some of the good recipes deserve a second outing.

As I was preparing yesterday’s dinner I decided that it was perfect for Finger Food Friday. A perfect combination of some perfect finger food to keep on stand by and a normal family dinner that we can all eat. I was making Leek Tart for us and Nano tends to find the chopped leeks a little difficult to deal with so at the same time I made a batch of baby quiches which he could have for dinner, with some left over for snacks and lunches.

You’ll find the recipe for the Baby quiches here. You can use packet pastry if you wish and if you do, you would have enough for Chris’s Leek Tart and a batch of quiches.

The polenta ‘chips’ go perfectly with this and are a great alternative to potatoes. Why I didn’t start eating polenta years ago I don’t know, but now I’ve discovered it I love it. The recipe is taken from the River Cottage Baby and Toddler Cookbook, which I highly recommend for all kinds of weaning.

Polenta Chips


100g Polenta
500ml Chicken or veg stock or water (if you are worried about salt content for younger babies then just use water, I tend to use a weak solution of stock or water)
25g Parmesan cheese
Olive oil


In a saucepan, gradually add the liquid to the polenta, stirring all the time to prevent lumps. 
Heat and stir until bubbling and then continue to cook for 4-5 minutes. It will bubble like volcanic mud. 
Take off the heat and stir in the cheese. 
Turn out onto a cold plate or a piece of marble or glass (I use the glass tray that I keep the teapot on!)
Spread to about 1.5cm thick and leave to cool. 
Once cooled cut into chips
Preheat oven to 220c/Gas mark 7
Brush the chips with oil and bake for about 20-30mins


They come out crunchy and gorgeous – great for adults and babies to enjoy together. 




2 thoughts on “Finger Food Friday – Baby quiches and Polenta chips

  1. I spent ages trying to comment on this post yesterday but it wouldn't work!This looks so good and I wanted to say that I am really pleased that you are doing these posts again, you inspire me to make the effort a bit more. Have put polenta on the shopping list.

Leave a Reply

