Too many miles

While we were away on our holidays I was lucky enough to be spending a few days very close to a dear friend and so got the chance to take the children to hers for a play and spend a child free day chatting and pottering around cute little shops in a cute little town. On the last day we went to the Tots 100 Summer Party to meet up with other, marvellous friends.

Later this week I shall be seeing a very good friend who doesn’t even live in the same time zone as me, even though she used to live ten minutes away. I miss her a lot and we are pretty rubbish at keeping in touch. It’s not easy when her manic breakfast time is our mad, end of day countdown to bedtime. However, I have no doubt that we shall just pick up where we left off last.

The internet has opened up lots of opportunities to find like-minded, smart, funny women who like the same things that I do and just ‘get’ me and I am lucky enough that these women have joined those in my ‘real’ life as proper friends.

It occurred to me as I drove back to the campsite, after one of these spirit-lifting days, that there are too many people in my life that live too far away. Getting a glimpse of what it would be like to have these women  close by, so that you could meet for coffee or pop over for lunch made me sad.

But, it bought me back to something my Dad always tells me. He says that many people drift in and out of your life and as you get older you realise that true, real friends, who understand you and are on your ‘wavelength’ are rare and you are lucky if you find one or two.

I have at least six people who fit that description and only one of those lives within ‘coffee’ distance, but still I feel ridiculously lucky. As I enjoyed the silence of two sleeping children in the back of the car, I realised that regardless of how often I see them or where they live, my life is richer and more fun with these people in it. I would rather have them at the end of the phone, or in my computer screen, than not there at all.

So, no matter how you keep in contact, if you do have people who fit that description in your life, hang on to them, they are gold and if you are very very lucky you will get to hug them properly every now and again, so make sure you do.

6 thoughts on “Too many miles

  1. I feel the same way as you. My friends are far too many miles away from me and I need to work harder at making more local ones. But I am so glad to have met you through the internet

  2. Totally agree with this. My two closest friends live too far away to make popping round for coffee an option, so we only ever see each other a few times a year. But when we do it's like no time has passed. I also really feel this way about my family. My parents recently moved 3 hours away and my in-laws are another 3 hours in the opposite direction. The world is too big!

  3. Aww bless, my friends live close at hand but I've outgrown a lot of them as they don't have kids and don't understand why I don't want to come clubbing every weekend. I have some great online ones. x

Leave a Reply

