Finger Food Friday – Multi use tomato sauce

Oof, it’s been a while since I’ve done a Finger Food Friday for you and I’ve had this one up my sleeve for weeks, but have tended to remember it as I’m drifting off to sleep on a Friday night. However, this week I am being organised and as you read this I am actually catching up with some friends who don’t live close enough to me in a campsite somewhere in The Cotswolds, but I’ve left this absolute winner for you.

Some baking and cooking for children is pretty and indulgent and you do it when you have time and they are in a good mood to help you, some is just about getting something on the table as quickly as possible and I find having a batch of my multi use tomato sauce in the fridge gets me out of some bare cupboard scrapes. 
This sauce is brilliant for topping home made pizza dough, or stirred through pasta, but on this particular occasion I used it on some leftover puff pastry, cut into strips, topped with cheese and then twisted and brushed with egg wash. They were great with veggies for dinner, but made great snacks for both boys. 
Multi Use Tomato Sauce

1 tbsp olive oil

1 clove garlic, sliced thinly

1 tin of chopped tomatoes

1 tsp dried herbs (oregano, basil or mixed)

Using a sauce soften the garlic, being careful not to burn or colour it.
Add tomatoes and bring to boil
Add herbs and salt and pepper if you wish
Turn down to a simmer and leave for around 45 mins, until it’s a nice thick sludge.
Use a potato masher to mash out lumps and you will have a perfect pizza or pasta sauce. 

Note to self: Do not leave the funpod with the human dustbin in it next to cooling baked goods
Leave a Reply

