Perfect Basmati Rice

I consider myself to be a pretty good cook. I can bake, do a mean roast and if I say so myself my shortcrust pastry is fabulous. However, until about a year ago I had never been able to cook basmati rice. Occasionally I’d get it right, but I had no idea how, most of time it was a sticky, mushy mess, like a savory rice pudding.

So, as with most things that stump me I took to Twitter, someone always knows what to do and sure enough I had many suggestions from friends that I know are a marvel in the kitchen. Having tried them all I can reveal that Victoria’s is the simplest and the most reliable and as she will never blog it, I feel it is my public duty to do so.

  • Measure you rice by volume into a saucepan. I use a cup measure.
  • Add double the amount of cold water.
  • Bring to the boil. This is when you need to be a bit careful, as once it is boiling to need to turn it down.
  • Cover saucepan with a lid and turn the hob to it’s lowest setting
  • Set a timer for 10mins
  • After 10mins, turn heat off, remove lid and fluff with a fork.
  • Replace lid and set timer for a further 10mins
  • Eat

That’s it, no rinsing, no soaking. Perfect results every time.

Photo 14-05-2013 17 36 42

You’re welcome.

6 thoughts on “Perfect Basmati Rice

  1. sharing such recipes is a great public service ;o) I too consider myself to be a good cook but had been a notorious rice burner (usually because I was doing 10 things at once and forgot the vital ‘turning it to a simmer’ stage’). I shall be forever grateful for this blog post that really did change my life forever when it came to successful rice 100% of the time http://housewifeconfidential.co.uk/this-recipe-will-change-your-life/ only difference between Kat and Victorias recipe I think is the coating of rice in oil before boiling to reduce the release of starch.

  2. I’ll have to give it a go because I have yet to cook basmati rice with any success. I always buy the ‘easy cook’ kind’ but every now and again, it would be nice to have proper basmati.

Leave a Reply

