The year in books – April

I’m so delighted to be finally joining in with Laura at Circle of Pine Trees and #theyearinbooks project. Every month I’ve looked on longingly at the photos of piles of lovely books, wishing my long lost love of reading could be ignited.

Ever since having children, especially since Nano was born I haven’t carved out the time to read, too tired to manage more than a page each night, most of the time. I would still always have a book in progress, but they would take so long to finish I’d often give up.

So, I decided to make a point of reading during night feeds as soon as Lady Mck arrived. With my previous two I’d either watched boxsets of Sex and the City or aimlessly surfed the Internet on my phone. I wanted something that felt more productive, somehow, and her being born on March 1st fits beautifully with the idea of recording what I read throughout the year. I’m so pleased with how it’s gone so far. I completed two books in March and I can’t remember the last time I did that. I found myself reading not just during night feeds, but in the day too and staying up longer than needed in the night to finish a chapter. Obviously paternity leave gave me a bit more time, but if I can read just one book a month I’ll be satisfied.

Today, I’m going to share the books I read in March and what I’ll be reading in April.

I wanted to start myself off with something easy and comforting and one of the few authors that I have been able to read during my reading block is Jenny Colgan. Her series of books based around sweets and cakes are a real nostalgic and funny read and so I began my reading project with “The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris”. It didn’t disappoint and was crammed full of romantic French heroes, lovely descriptions of Paris and mouthwatering food. It absolutely made me crave chocolate, but seeing as I was breastfeeding, what felt like, constantly, I was able to indulge a little.

The Rosie Project was a book that I’d seen a few people taking part in #theyearinbooks read and all I knew was it was about love. It happened to be on offer when I went to buy my other March book and so after a quick scan of the synopsis I decided to give it a try. I absolutely loved it. An easy read with a totally fascinating and charming main character. It was funny, touching, enlightening and had me hooked very early on. Not the sort of thing I would normally pick up, but I am so glad I did.

So, there we are, two books in a month. Can’t remember the last time I managed that.

Photo 10-04-2014 18 32 26

For April I decided to drag myself into the 21st century and got myself a kindle. Mckdaddy has had one for years and raves about it. I got myself a bargain, mint condition second hand one and I’m always happy about a bargain. I don’t imagine I’ll give up actual books, but it’s great for one handed reading or for books only available online.

My first April is one such book and is very exciting. My talented twitter friend Aimee is writing a book and asked if I’d read the first draft. It returns to her existing character, Dottie and I am so thrilled she’s asked me to look at it. You can find Aimee’s other Dottie adventures in the kindle store on Amazon.

Next on my list is The Vesuvius Club by Mark Gatiss, which I’ve been wanting to read for ages and have started once before and next some non-fiction. I love non-fiction books, but these have definitely been neglected during my reading block.

I’ll let you know what I think of these next month and in the meantime get over to Laura’s blog to see what others are reading. It’s a great source of ideas for what to read next.

One thought on “The year in books – April

  1. Hoorah!!!! So thrilled that you are joining in, lovely. I, too do most of my reading whilst feeding the babe. I am sorely tempted by a Kindle so that I could read without turning the light on (also, I have the very same breastfeeding pillow, haha!) xx

Leave a Reply

