A year of organising

Do you remember A Year of Organising? I wrote about my plan for this year last month, after a slow start to the year and I haven’t been idle. I’ve been working on a few things to make our lives more organised, clearing the actual and metaphorical clutter, so that we are able to enjoy the good things in life a little more.

As I’ve started work on this year long project, I’ve been able to order and refine my objectives and have increasingly fixed on three main areas that I want to work on and will be able to share with you on the blog as I do so.

img_0206

 

Routines

For me, routine is when you do something without having to think about it and I have come to the conclusion that the more non-thinking routines and habits I have, the better. The less thinking I have to do, the less cluttered my brain is and the more calm I am. I want to implement routines for myself, but also for my family. If the children are in a good routine, it helps them and me. Last year I found myself feeling so disorganised and I want to impose some order on how the home runs and also how I live. My work on routines can cover all manner of things. Cleaning, children, food, time management and general life admin. This is why it’s such a vital area for me to improve.

Home

I’ve mentioned before that we still have lots of DIY and sorting jobs that need doing in our home. There is also still decluttering and organising to be done. As I watched Heather’s recent video about her garage declutter, she mentioned it was a good idea to think about why you want to declutter and I have a few reasons. Firstly, I want our home to feel calm and I find a lack of clutter really helps with this. Clear surfaces and the absence of untidy piles everywhere really helps my mood. It may sound boring, but I think that accepting this is the case, is really helpful. Secondly, I want cleaning to be easier. I spend so much time tidying and partly this is because we have too much stuff and what we have doesn’t always have a proper place. Finally, I want to be able to find things. I am terribly impatient when I can’t find things and when you consider I often have to know where the belongings of four other people are, as well as my own, it is even more frustrating. I want everything to have a home and generally to be in that place.

Wellbeing

My first two goals are external. They are about how the family and the home work and making them fit for purpose. My final goal is more about me. I am not always very good at looking after myself. Getting enough rest, eating the right food, drinking enough water, spending my leisure time wisely. Too many evenings are spent mindlessly surfing the web or watching TV too late. I don’t always look after my skin or my nails, or really any part of my body. I don’t make the effort to see friends or arrange things for me and Lady Mck to do during the day. I fritter money away, when I could be saving it and spending it on luxuries that I really want. I need more good, positive stuff in my life and less damaging stuff. None of this is to beat myself up. We all get stuck in a rut every now and again, but my year of organising seems like a perfect time to look inward as well as my outside environment.


So, there we have it. My plan has a shape.  I am looking forward to sharing with you how I get on in my attempts to organise my life and that of my my family.

Leave a Reply

