Mum Burnout

I am staring at the cursor, blinking in the top left of the screen. A blank page to fill. When is it right to share the real, not so pretty stuff on a blog? Is it ever right? For me, it is when not sharing feels inauthentic. You don’t come here for a picture perfect life, you come for a real portrayal of life and I imagine, of motherhood, in particular. I have other posts I could finish off and publish and they will come, but when I find something is stopping me, I know it’s time to write whatever my fingers type. 

Do you ever feel that this should all be so much easier? That you should be doing it all better and enjoying it more? When does it get easier? I thought once the baby days were done it would become more manageable, but at the moment I am finding it harder, I think, than even those sleep-deprived hazy days. Perhaps it’s the expectation that it should be easier that makes it harder. When you have babies, just getting out of the house on time and with everyone in the right clothes is a cause for celebration and a good day tick earned. Maybe it’s that juggling the needs of a 7,5 and 2 year old is actually just as challenging, as juggling those of a 5 year old, a 3 year old and a newborn, if not harder. Perhaps it’s just the lack of balance for such a long time. The seven years of making snacks, mopping up spills, arguing about clean teeth and coats and what’s for dinner. Perhaps it’s tidying the kitchen everyday, folding endless loads of washing or trying to stop your car becoming a toy cupboard/rubbish bin and failing. I suspect it’s all of that, plus, and perhaps this is most important, giving so much of yourself, everyday and not even knowing if you’re doing it right. Overthinking it all or getting to grips with it all, only to have it all change on you, in the blink of an eye. 

Over the past few weeks (months?) I’ve noticed how short-tempered I am. Running on my emotions too much, in a house of small people, who are designed to live on their emotions too. And then a couple of weeks ago, it hit me. I looked in the mirror after the kids had gone to bed and thought “ I look knackered. When will I ever not look knackered?!” Mostly, I get plenty of sleep, aside from the odd disturbance for a child’s nightmare or a wet bed, we sleep all night and I realised it’s not really that kind of tiredness. It’s weariness. It’s burn out. On the same evening this blog was shared to facebook and it stopped me in my tracks. It was like she was speaking to me and the relief that this is how it is was overwhelming. 
A google search later and of course, Mum burnout is a thing that everyone else seems to know about. I just thought I was failing at it all. I’m not, I’m just burnt out. The extra to-dos of the festive season have taken it up a notch and my complete lack of enthusiasm for it all, in stark contrast to last year, show that things are a little off. It occurred to me today that I have felt more festive when pregnant or with a tiny baby or in the middle of a very long and expensive loft conversion. This year, it all just feels like a huge drag. I am hoping that the introduction of mulled booze and mince pies will rectify this, but they won’t if I don’t write some cards and wrap some presents too. 
So, what next? Well, I’m a bit of ‘this is how it is. Suck it up and get on with it’ type of person and I stand by that. It is what it is. My children are still quite young and take a lot of hard work and it’s not even that I am wishing it were over. Strangely, the last few months have had lots of moments that make me want to freeze time. They are all at such awesome ages and I can see their brains exploding, in very different ways, but all seem to be in a time of huge growth and I love it. 

However, I know that just sucking it up and ploughing on won’t be enough on it’s own. Even if I do find that by just acknowledging how I feel is often enough to help. Do you find that? I am a big proponent of ‘feeling what we feel’ and just sitting with it for a while. 
How do you prevent or recover from ‘Mum Burnout’? I’m thinking working on that elusive balance. A little more taking it easy on myself. A little less heaping on the guilt and pressure. Lots of early nights and things that make me happy, that ‘fill my cup’ How about you? 

2 thoughts on “Mum Burnout

  1. I guess it has to be to make more time for yourself. I’ve only got one, and can still fully relate! The feeling of ‘I cannot physically clean this kitchen again without screaming’ has overcome me many a time, and with the second due soon, I don’t see that changing in the foreseeable future! Taking time where it’s just me to do whatever I want without someone wanting to be picked up every 10 minutes definitely helps.

  2. Hello darling, I’m sorry to hear you’re feeling rubbish. It’s always that look in the mirror that seems to be the tipping point. I did the same the other day and could have sobbed. It’s been weeks and weeks of falling into bed with my make up on or at best taking it off with a baby wipe. I realised I was worrying about too much, attempting to meet deadlines I’d been setting myself. That’s how I’m choosing to try and recuperate a bit with lots of “it’ll have to wait” on the basis I wasn’t enjoying any day, evening and never felt rested after sleep. It’s been a far better more positive week of committing to just doing my best without busting a gut. Cards have been ‘late’ (but not really late, it’s a relatively recent engagement of friends etc.). I’ve been doing some extra evening work to help with Christmas spends but kind clients haven’t set strict deadlines with delivering that, I realised I had. We’ve had more dinners at the table and less on our laps. I’ve definitely not had enough fresh air recently on account of non work days being wet days so I’m going to try really hard to change that next week. I can taste one of those mince pies you’re talking about, I wish we were sitting down to share one. Thank you for sharing the honesty – it’s no coincidence the last post on my blog is from October. Lots of love, enjoy your roast xxx

Leave a Reply

